Review ~ Rimmel London ScandalEyes Retro Glam Mascara*

*This mascara was sent to me by Influenster in my SpringVoxBox*

It is sooooo hot here right now. I am currently writing this while sitting directly next to my fan, but Zephyr is breathing on me, which I feel like cancels out all the potential cool of the fan. Thanks dog, thanks.

This is my first experience with any of Rimmel’s mascaras – keep reading to see what I thought!

Packaging

IMG_1104

3 out of 5.

Nothing super impressive or eye catching here – the tube is the typical shape and is slightly fatter than others. The label is 60’s inspired, matching the name nicely, and is simply colored in black & white.

Wand

IMG_1105

5 out of 5.

This wand is hourglass shaped (fatter at the ends and slimmer in the middle) and has your classic furry bristles. I don’t have a favorite style of wand, though I don’t know that I’ve ever used one in this shape. It picks up a good amount of product, but you do have to watch for clumps of product sticking to the bristles – just make sure to rub off the excess.

Formula

5 out of 5.

The formula leans slightly towards the drier side, with a thicker texture. I find that drier/thicker mascaras transfer a little less than wetter ones, though this will transfer fairly easily if you aren’t paying attention. I generally prefer a thicker & drier formula, so this is right up my alley! However, I do notice some flaking, sometimes even WHILE I am applying the mascara. But it doesn’t smudge underneath my lash line as the day wears on.

Application

Retro Glam applies evenly& easily to my lashes – no excessive work or maneuvering required.

Naked

Naked

1 coat

1 coat

2 coats

2 coats

3 coats

3 coats

3 coats with bottom lashes.

3 coats with bottom lashes.

4 out of 5.

There is some slight clumping once you get to the 3rd coat, but I feel like this is going to be fairly typical with most mascaras.

Rimmel claims: “Bold, wide-eyed false lash look.
Hour-glass brush shaped to the lash line to plump lashes, fanning them up and out for bold, wide-eyed volume.
Coats lashes individually for a big, false lash look in one simple stroke. No clumps!”

I don’t ever curl my lashes, but as you can see from the photos, this mascara basically does it for me! Wide eyed look? Check. Fanned out lashes? Check. Volume, individual coating & no clumping? Meh. This mascara doesn’t give quite as much volume as I would like, but it isn’t bad. I also found that by mid 2nd coat the lashes were starting to stick to each other. It didn’t give a great feathery effect, either. It will clump around coat 3, so watch for that!

Bottom line:

4.25 out of 5.

I love this mascara! It has been my go to ever since it was sent to me and works well for a simple, no-makeup makeup look, or for something bolder. I would definitely check it out if you are looking for something that can be universally used for many different types of looks. Still looking for my “holy grail” mascara, but this is a good starting point!

What other mascaras from Rimmel have you tried?

Love, Natalia

9 thoughts on “Review ~ Rimmel London ScandalEyes Retro Glam Mascara*

  1. I’ve used a mascara of theirs a LONG time ago and am not sure if they still make it anymore but I loved it 🙂 Can’t remember the name of it but I really liked the wand and it was pink and black lol. 🙂

Leave a Reply

