Mani Monday ~ Sunset Ombre Tribal

Image

 

Happy belated Mother’s Day! The boy and I are doing a little recovery today – we had a joint Mother’s Day celebration with both our moms since both our dads had to work! We went out to Tomales Bay and picked up some oysters, then sent our moms to get pedicures. Later, we partied. Maybe a little too much. Now I have a headache. Boo.

So, it has been movie & ice cream day. I’m fairly sure I may be slightly lactose intolerant, as eating any dairy makes me feel sick to my stomach almost immediately. I never eat it anymore, but the boy got strep throat and all he could eat was ice cream and pudding – well, he pretty much couldn’t eat anything, so guess who did…

Image

Disregard the messiness!

I have been wanting to do a tribal style manicure for awhile, but I thought it would come out looking like a two year old did it. I didn’t take pictures of my right hand because it does actually look like a child did it.

What I used:

Image

  • Nail polish remover
  • Dotting tool
  • Q-tips
  • Top coat
  • Base coat
  • Makeup sponge
  • Essie’s DJ Play That Song
  • Essie’s Watermelon
  • Sinful Shine’s Mardi Gras
  • Sally Hansen’s Xtreme Wear White Out
  • Black Nail striper

This was also my first attempt at an ombre, which I just looked up on Youtube. It can get a little messy, hence the need for polish remover and q-tips. Then, I simply used a black striper to make different designs on each nail. I was going for a sunset theme and think these color choices came out great! You just need an orange, a purple, and a pink. Make sure to start with a white base, though, as the sponge application technique leaves a less than opaque result.

Image

Have you ever tried a tribal manicure?

Happy Monday, everyone!

 Love, Natalia

One thought on “Mani Monday ~ Sunset Ombre Tribal

  1. Pingback: Top 5 Blogger Summer Looks | Yellow Elephant Beauty

Leave a Reply

