April 2014 Favorites ~ Makeup, Hair, & Fitness!

Image

 

I cannot believe that it is already May! I don’t know why I’m surprised though, for some reason time ALWAYS seems to fly by for me.

Miley Cyrus’ “Wrecking Ball” just came on on my Pandora. Barf. I guess that’s what happens when you listen to Ke$ha radio, but I find girly power songs get me in the mood to blog, so I’m sucking it up through the bad ones. Have you heard Ke$ha’s (yes, I have to spell it like that) “Grow a Pear”? Effing hilarious! Youtube it, you wont be disappointed.

This month’s favorites have a little fitness friend thrown in, so let’s get on with it!

Image

#1: Jawbone’s UP24 This is one of those fitness tracking bracelets and I have been researching these for a little while, but couldn’t pull the trigger due to the price tag ($150-ish). However, I re-negotiated my commissions at work and had a little extra cash last month and splurged on this! It is awesome because it syncs with the app via bluetooth to my phone, as well as to the MyFitnessPal app. It will automatically adjust my calorie intake for the day depending on how active I am being, track my sleep & steps, and notify me when I’ve been inactive for a certain amount of time. It also functions as an alarm clock! I am in love. The only con is that I cannot snooze the alarm part, so I just set a second alarm to be sure I actually get up.

#2 NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer in Custard I purchased this when Sephora had their 15% off VIB sale & haven’t put it down since! It has a thicker formula, but it doesn’t cake up, even if I double up the layers! It does crease a bit under the eyes, but doesn’t make me look like the crypt keeper or anything. It blends out beautifully and matches my skin tone perfectly! It is pricey at $29, but it is worth it in my book!

#3 fresh Sugar Rosé Tinted Lip Treatment This is actually a mini size that I got in one of those “Sephora Favorites” boxes – one of the lip ones – and I have been grabbing it every day this month! It has a beautiful red tint that stays nicely for a more balm-type lippie and keeps my lips super moisturized! I use this on days that I want something lighter or more natural.

#4 Healthy Sexy Hair Soy Renewal Nourishing Styling Treatment This was one of the items on my April Wish List that I immediately went out and purchased. Since day one, it has been a God send! I use it at night before going to bed, in the morning on damp hair after showering, and sometimes when I am done styling, as well. It leaves my hair shiny, soft, and less-tangley all day. It is made with argan oil and leaves my hands super soft afterwards!

#5 Cargo blu-ray High Definition Mattifier I have been looking into getting a mattifying primer now that it is getting warmer and my face starts to look like it’s been deep-fried. I don’t normally gravitate towards Cargo’s products, but they seem to be phasing them out at Ulta and all their products were 50% off! I saw this and quickly snagged it and so far, it works great! My t-zone will get shiny as the day goes on, but not NEARLY as bad as it would’ve been had I used a different primer. It’s a keeper.

#6 Real Techniques Blush Brush This was also an April Wish List buy. Until now I have not had a proper blush brush – *GASP* – and I now do not know what I did without this one! It is incredibly soft, light, and diffuses product like a champ!

#7 Anastasia Lavish Palette  When I saw that ABH re-released this palette I went directly to their site and purchased it. The shadows are amazingly soft and blend easily. They aren’t chalky or have a lot of fallout, either. The colors Sienna & Orange Soda have been my go-tos for transitioning and blending out the crease. Also, IT IS IN STOCK RIGHT NOW, so go get it!!!

#8 Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge Yet another April Wish List purchase. I do not have the Beauty Blender, so I can’t speak as to whether it is better/worse but I will say that it is amazing! The flat side is great for larger surface areas of the face, and the pointed part for more precision in harder-to-reach areas.

#9 Tarte Amazonian Clay Waterproof Brow Mousse in Taupe When I bought this, I had originally wanted a different color in my ABH Dipbrow Pomade, but they were completely sold out. I had heard about Tarte’s brow mousse, so grabbed one of these instead and I am glad that I did. The texture of this isn’t exactly what I would deem a “mousse” as it is fairly solid, but it glides on the brows for beautiful definition. It doesn’t have the staying power of my Dipbrow and is $10 more. However, it comes with an angled brush/spoolie which pretty much sealed the deal for me!

#10 Milani Baked Blush in 05 Luminoso I have been gravitating towards coral-hued blushes lately and recently picked this up in a haul early in the month. It is a beautiful true coral with super fine gold shimmer. It gives a natural, sun kissed finish to the skin, which I love. The texture is soft and smooth without much fallout. I can’t wait to try out some of Milani’s other blushes!

What have you been loving this month? Leave your monthly favorite link in the comments below! Happy May!

3 thoughts on “April 2014 Favorites ~ Makeup, Hair, & Fitness!

Leave a Reply

