Review: Maybelline The Rocket Mascara

Image

 

I have heard so many beauty gurus talk about how wonderful this mascara is, and being that it is drugstore, I was excited to see if it lived up to the hype. Did it? Keep reading to find out! 

Formula: This mascara is very wet, so you need to be careful when applying. This is probably not a mascara you want to use if you are in a rush. If you get it on your skin, it is extremely hard to remove.

Image

Wand: The wand is made of rubber, with small spikes evenly displaced around the entire thing. I tend to prefer this type of wand to the more classic brush-type ones. However, this one does tend to poke my lash line while I am applying it, so if you have sensitive eyes you’ll need to be careful. I found this same issue with my Benefit They’re Real! mascara, but after awhile you get used to it.

Application: This mascara applies smoothly and evenly, but I would classify this as a lengthener vs. a volumize-er. I also find that I need to do one eye at a time, instead of doing one coat on each then flopping back and forth. Because of the wetter formula, it doesn’t dry as quickly as some, but if I give it too much time between coats I find that it clumps quicker.

Demo:

 

Bare lashes

Bare lashes

1 coat

1 coat

2 coats

2 coats

3 coats

3 coats

Bottom Line: Meh. That is the first word that comes to mind to describe this mascara. Once we get past the 2 coat mark, the clumpy-spider monster arrives. There is nothing worse than looking like you have spider legs coming out of your eyes. Ew. I do not completely hate it, but I am not feeling the love, either. If you are looking for something “lighter” or more natural in a coat or two, then this mascara might be for you. But, if you were hoping for something more dramatic (like I was expecting), then you may be disappointed. I do like it for the bottom lashes and will continue to use it in my mascara “cocktail” until it is gone, but it probably wont be a repurchase. I will say that it can take me a little while to really love a mascara, and perhaps if the formula dries up a little I will like it more, but that remains to be seen!

Rating: 3 out of 5

Did you find that you liked this mascara right away or it had to grow on you?

Love, Natalia

7 thoughts on “Review: Maybelline The Rocket Mascara

  1. I’m obsessed with “They’re Real” by Benefit but I gave this a try and I actually really like it. I don’t use more than two coats so it hasn’t really bothered me. Maybe after a couple uses and it dries a little you’ll like it more. Is there a different drug store mascara you recommend?

Leave a Reply

