Favorites ∫ March 2014

March 2014 Favorites

 

 

I am either extremely productive on Mondays, or extremely lazy. Yesterday, the boy and I watched movies all day as we recovered from the copious amounts of tequila we drank the night before, so I decided this would be one of the productive Mondays. I forced myself out of bed at 5AM for boot camp, did about 5 million loads of laundry, went grocery shopping, prepped breakfast and lunch for the week, started my squat challenge, made dinner and am now drafting not one, but 3 blog posts! I had a hard time deciding which to post first, but seeing as today is the last day of March, the monthly favorites seemed like the logical choice. Let’s get started!

Sonia Kashuk Hidden Agenda Concealer Palette in 07 Light

This concealer quad actually only has 3 concealers: a light, medium, and green toned. The fourth compartment holds a beige colored pressed powder. I originally thought it was meant for setting the concealers, but it has a bit of sparkle in it so doesn’t get used. I have used these to conceal and highlight, but have found it can crease under the eyes; my new favorite application is to use it to carve out my brows. Even if I think I have done a good job and don’t need to “clean” up any areas, I find it makes my eyebrows look more sculpted. Also, I use the lighter shade underneath my brows and it creates a nice base for my under-brow highlight!

Clinique Bottom Lash Mascara

I have had this mascara for about 2 months now, and it took some time to get used to. The wand is tiny, but the formula is very wet so you need a very steady, and light, hand. If you get any of the product on your skin, it is incredibly hard to remove and will just look like a smudgy mess. However, if applied with patience, you will get that perfect baby-doll look! I use this mascara pretty much everyday and now feel like something is missing when I don’t. The tube is much smaller than a standard size mascara and I have just noticed that it is starting to run low, but for $10 and the results it gets, I don’t mind having to repurchase it more frequently!

Almay Get Up & Grow Mascara

This is an oldie but a goodie, and after running out of my last tube 4-5 months ago, I finally went out a repurchased it. I tend to prefer a drier mascara formula, which this one by Almay provides, so if that isn’t your thing you may not like this. I use this mascara alone on days when I am going for a more natural look, but always use it as my “base” when going for a more dramatic lash. It gives great volume at the lash line, and some length as well, but not quite as much as others. I always use this first, then apply 1 or 2 other mascaras on top to get the length that I want.

Urban Decay Naked 3

This is the only Naked palette I own. (*GASP!*) I have gone back and forth about buying the others, but when I saw they were coming out with a rose gold themed one, I knew this was the one I had to start with. It took a little work to get good color payoff from the more shimmery colors (like Buzz, Dust & Trick), but once I got through those top layers, they are much more pigmented. Also, the shades Nooner & Limit are amazing for blending out the crease. I love Dark Heart for a smokey look, but will just dust the sparkly colors all over the lid for a quick and pulled together look. Definitely worth the $50+ price tag!

Amazing Cosmetics Concealer in Medium

I got this travel size concealer when I purchased a full size foundation when Amazing Cosmetics was on Hautelook. When I received it, I think I may have tried out the concealer once or twice, but promptly put it away in favor of others. When I realized that I was in need of a skin-tone concealer, I pulled this back out to give it a try. And bam! we fell in love. The consistency of this concealer is thicker than most, pretty much half way between a cream and a liquid. It goes on smooth, blends in easily and doesn’t feel heavy on the skin. A little goes a long way, so I have to be careful when squeezing it out. I mostly use this to spot treat any blemishes, but haven’t noticed any creasing or caking on the spots that I do use it.

Dermablend Camouflage Powder in Sand

I had swatched this pressed powder in Ulta one day but had decided to pass on it. And, for the rest of the day, I was thinking about it. I took that as a sign, and when payday rolled around, promptly went out and picked it up. The texture is incredibly smooth and it covers beautifully! I will use this alone when I am going for a lighter look, or over top of my foundation if I really want to be fully covered. It claims to be able to cover things like scars and tattoos, but on its own I would tend to disagree. It is great at covering slight redness and discoloration, but you would need a foundation underneath to cover something like a tattoo. However, I do not have any tattoos that need to be covered, so this is a moot point. The one issue I have with this powder is that applying it with anything other than a fluffy brush can leave some fairly obvious application lines. I like to use a puff-type thing to apply as it gives better coverage, so I have to be sure to use a light hand and them buff it out with a fluffy brush.

Maybelline Color Tattoo in Bad to the Bronze

This is one of three Color Tattoos I have, but this is the one I have been reaching for the most this month. I have used it both as a base for other shadows and alone for a one shadow look. If I am going out of town or am running late, this is my go to shadow. It doesn’t crease and gives a beautiful bronze glow to the eyes. One day, I will own all the shades, but for now, this one does the trick!

Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in Light

Apparently, I have been into concealers this month! So for our third, and final, concealer, we have my highlight shade. I use this in a triangle under my eyes, down the center of my noise, on my forehead, cupid’s bow, and chin. The texture is much more liquid-y than the other two, but still blends just as well as the others. I do notice some creasing as the day goes on, but I have just come to accept this as a fact of life.

That’s a wrap! What were you loving this past month??

xoxo, Natalia

2 thoughts on “Favorites ∫ March 2014

Leave a Reply

