6 Week Nutrition Challenge

Last Monday, we started a 6-week nutrition & exercise challenge in my boot camp. I thought it might be helpful to those of you who are looking for a diet/exercise plan if I posted the guidelines we are following! Within the past week, I have already noticed a difference in the way I look, especially in my mid-section. This plan follows a point system (as there will be a prize for the most points at the end) that you do not have to use, but I find the points helpful to track, at a glance, how I have done day-by-day.

Nutrition

  • You start with 5 points each day & subtract a point for each rule you break. Rules are as follows:
  1. YOU CANNOT EAT: Gluten or grains (including rice), dairy from any source (i.e., milk, yogurt, & butter), processed foods (i.e., pretty much anything in a box or bag),  sweeteners (including honey, agave, coconut palm sugar, xylitol, maple syrup, etc.), soy products, white potatoes & beets, fruit juices (unless fresh squeezed), drink supplements (like protein powders), all alcohols & most oils (including olive oil, canola oil, vegetable oil, etc.)
  2. YOU CAN EAT: Quinoa, coconut or almond milk, Stevia (only sweetener allowed), fruits, vegetables (excluding white potatoes & beets – starchy!), meat, poultry, & fish, coconut oil, avocado oil, coffee & herbal tea, and water.

Exercise

  • Start with 0 points each day, and can earn 2 points for doing at least 20 mins of an exercise that raises your heart rate (walking your 15 year old dog around the block once doesn’t count!).
  • No “partial points”. Must do at least 20 mins for 2 points, or no points at all!

Stretching

  • Start with 0 points each day, and can earn 1 point for doing at least 10 minutes of stretching.

Sleep

  • Start with 0 points, and earn 1 point for getting at least 7 hours of sleep each night.

Water

  • Start with 0 points, and earn 1 point for drinking at least 2 liters (8 cups) of water. No partial points!

*There is a total of 10 points possible each day*

Other recommendations/guidelines I follow:

  1. Try to eat your most fatty meals in the evening, as you burn fat & muscle during sleep – so ideally you are burning the fat!
  2. I keep my fruit intake to bananas (preferably slightly green), citrus (grapefruit, orange, lemon, & lime), and green apples. Fruit tends to be high is natural sugars, so I try to steer clear of most of them – oranges are my one “cheat”.
  3. Use a calorie &/or fitness tracking app – I LOVE MyFitnessPal, or just keep a food & exercise journal. I find this extremely helpful to keeping myself on-track with calories and portion control.
  4. Do it with a friend! I buy all the groceries, so the boy is an easy nutrition partner, but apps like the one mentioned above have social media sharing capabilities so you can see what your friends/family are doing and can help you keep accountable. I also find that seeing how well other people are doing motivates me (or brings out my competitiveness!).

We also did a weigh-in and hip & waist measurements on the first day, as well as a “bench mark” workout. At the end of the 6 weeks, we will weigh in, do measurements, and complete the bench mark workout again to see our progress. We are also banned from weighing our selves until the end! In case you were wondering, our bench mark workout was as follows (time yourself!):

  • Run 1/2 mile
  • 3 Rounds of:
    • 100 jumping jacks
    • 80 sit ups
    • 60 squats
    • 40 push ups
    • 20 burpees
  • Run 1 mile

I didn’t get my time for the bench mark, but I weighed in at 118.8 lbs., 24 in. waist, & 35 in. hips. I am hoping to drop my weight to 110-112 lbs by the end of the 6 weeks.

Hope this is helpful to some of you! How do you stay fit and healthy?

One thought on “6 Week Nutrition Challenge

  1. Pingback: Nutrition Challenge ~ COMPLETE! | Beauty 'N' BowWows

Leave a Reply

